SA 8000


SA8000 is the first auditable standard in this field. In particular, it is compatible with ISO 9001, ISO 14001, and OHSAS18001 structure and based on conventions of the International Labor Organization (ILO), the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child. The worldwide-recognized certification to the SA8000 standard engages the enlargement and auditing of management systems that promote socially acceptable working practices bringing benefits to the total supply chain.

SA 8000 is a worldwide certification system that watches, evaluates and influences the social Accountability of companies, as well as their suppliers, looking for certification. This standard was established in 1997 by the New York-based non-profit organization, Social Accountability International (SAI), and derives from the International Labor Organization (ILO) conventions, United Nations’ Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the Convention on the Rights of the Child. SA 8000 focuses on nine essential areas:

Child Labor.
Forced Labor.
Health and Safety.
Freedom of Association.
Disciplinary Practices.
Working Hours.
Effective management implementation and review of continued SA 8000 compliance.

Benefits of SA 8000

Creation of fair competition based on the principles of a accountability approach to social troubles.

Facilitated access to public contributions, superior points in tender competitions.

Development of a company’s international status as regards the observance of ethical-social principles.

Decrease of internal conflicts and consequent enhancement in company climate.

Visibility towards consumers who partly base their option on the observance of ethical principles by companies.